Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

June 14, 2007

Big 12 commish resigns, joins Big Ten Network

Big 12 commissioner Kevin Weiberg is resigning to take a job with the Big Ten Network later this month, the network announced Thursday.

"I believe in the idea of the Big Ten Network and believe it will be extremely successful," Weiberg said in a statement released by the network. "It's a tremendous opportunity for me to be associated with a venture that has such a great future."

Weiberg, 50, has served as the Big 12commissioner since Dec. 4, 1998. He had signed a contract extension in January 2005 that ran through 2010 with a four-year option to 2014.

Big 12 teams won 27 national championships during his tenure. The Big 12 distributed a record $106 million to its member schools in the 2006-07 fiscal year.

Possible candidates?
Big 12 athletic directors:
Ian McCaw, Baylor
Mike Bohn, Colorado
Jamie Pollard, Iowa State
Lew Perkins, Kansas
Tim Weiser, Kansas State
Steve Pederson, Nebraska
Mike Alden, Missouri
Joe Castiglione, Oklahoma
Mike Holder, Oklahoma State
DeLoss Dodds, Texas
Bill Byrne, Texas A&M
Gerald Myers, Texas Tech
Weiberg had worked as the coordinator of the Bowl Championship Series and helped lead the negotiations of a four-year television contract with Fox Sports for the rights to all BCS games other than the Rose Bowl.

He also had served on the NCAA Division I men's basketball committee and had chaired the Division I-A Collegiate Commissioners' Association.

Before joining the Big 12, Weiberg worked at the Big Ten for nearly a decade in posts that included associate commissioner/chief operations officer and deputy commissioner.

The Big Ten Network is a 24-hour national cable/satellite programming service launching next month. The network's programming is scheduled to feature at least 35 football games, 105 men's basketball games and 55 regular-season women's basketball games per season.

Possible replacements for Weiberg could include Big 12 associate commissioners Dan Beebe, Donnie Duncan and John Underwood, Texas A&M athletic director Bill Byrne, Texas men's athletic director DeLoss Dodds, Texas women's athletic director Chris Plonsky and Fox Sports Southwest executive Jon Heidtke.

On Thursday, University of Texas officials told Rivals.com that Dodds would not be a candidate.

Beebe currently works as the Big 12's senior associate commissioner/chief operating officer. Duncan is the Big 12's director of football championship. Underwood is the Big 12 associate commissioner/men's basketball and game management.

Oklahoma NEWS


Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos SoonerScoop.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.