White wins Maxwell award

Jason White, last season’s Heisman Trophy Award winner continued to pile up award hardware on Thursday night during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Florida.
White was named the Maxwell Award winner rewarding the most outstanding college football player in the country. White beat out teammate Adrian Peterson and USC’s Matt Lienart for the honor.
The award wasn’t the only one garnered by White on the evening. He was also selected as the Davey O’Brien Award winner honoring the nation’s top quarterback. It was the second year in a row he has won that award.

Article Continues Below
On the season White completed 231-of-354 passes for 2,961 yards, 33 touchdowns and six interceptions. He also holds the OU career record for passing yards in a career as well as the career record for touchdown passes.
White wasn’t the only winner on the night as senior offensive tackle Jammal Brown was named as the Outland Trophy Award winner honoring the nation’s top lineman.
Brown beat out Florida State’s Alex Barron and Michigan’s David Baas for the honor.